Transferring an already registered domain name entails switching the company that provides the domain registration service, so after the transfer itself, you will have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS updates through the new domain registrar. The transfer process is standard with most generic and country-code Top-Level Domain extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain name entails several necessary steps and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The domain lock is a security option, which is being adopted by more and more domain registry organizations. It’s a standard feature supported by all generic Top-Level Domains. If a domain is locked, it will not be possible to initiate a transfer procedure, so no one can even attempt to snatch your domain name. The lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain is registered in the first place and all new domain names that support this functionality are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting

Locking and unlocking a domain registered through us is extremely easy. This can be done through the Hepsia Control Panel, which is included with our shared hosting plans, and will require exactly two clicks. All your domain names will be shown in alphabetical order in the Registered Domains section of the Control Panel and next to those whose extensions support the domain lock option, you’ll see a padlock-like sign. Click on it once and you will see the domain name’s present status. Click for the second time and you will change its status. The update will propagate instantaneously without the need for you or for our company to do anything else for the status to be updated on WHOIS lookup websites, so you can go ahead with the transfer right away.