A password-protected directory or area is a folder that could be accessed when a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized individuals could view its content. This option can be used for the primary folder of a certain site or only for a certain subfolder depending on the needs you have. For example, when you are creating a new website and you don't want people to see it before it's completely ready, you have to limit the access to it entirely, and if you need only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you may password-protect only a specific folder, while the other parts of the Internet site can be seen by anyone. Anyway, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in case the login details the visitor inputs are not right. Even a direct link to a file won't work if any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting

All of our shared hosting plans include a very useful tool which will allow you to protect any folder within your account from unauthorized access with just two mouse clicks. Once you log in to your Hepsia hosting Control Panel, you will simply have to go to the Password Protection section, to choose the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which has to be protected - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to input the username and the password which have to be used to access the content in question. The feature shall be active at once, so if you make an effort to open the folder/website, you shall be prompted to enter the login information. You could set up or remove numerous usernames for the very same folder, when necessary. If you navigate to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders shall be indicated by a compact padlock icon.